Informative plattform of International Federation of Film Societies- Féderation Internationalle des Ciné-clubs- Federación Internacional de Cine Clubes

IRELAND: FICC Jury Galway Film Fleadh / Award Decision 2017

The International Federation of Film Societies Jury has awarded the Don Quijote Prize at the Galway Film Fleadh 2017 in the category of Animation in a Short Film to :
An Béal Bocht / The Poor Mouth
Director: Tom Collins
Producer: Pearse Moore
An animated adaptation of Flann O’Brien’s only novel written in Irish under the pseudonym of Myles Na gCopaleen.  It is a biting satire of the life story of a young Gael reflecting on his life from Sligo Gaol.
The jury also gave a special mention to:
Late Afternoon
Director: Louise Bagnall
Producer: Nuria González Blanco
An elderly woman drifts back through her memories. She exists between two states: the past and the present.
FICC Jury Statement
The FICC jury unanimously awarded the Don Quijote prize to An Béal Bocht / The Poor Mouth, for its unique and entertaining portrayal of a snapshot of Irish history. The jury commended the film for its engaging narrative, technical competence, lively soundtrack and humourous interpretation of the story.

Special mention was also awarded to Late Afternoon for its beautifully crafted animation which communicates a poignant and heartwarming message about memory and human connections.
The FICC jury was made up of Mr. Stein R. Bjerkely (Norway), Ms. Laura Dunne (Ireland) and Ms. Finola Costello (Ireland).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on July 21, 2017 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .


Blog Stats

  • 24,940 hits


70 years!! Federazione italiana dei Circoli del Cinema

Website Editors

Gabriel Rodríguez (México)
Julio Lamaña (Catalunya)

Follow us!

%d bloggers like this: