Informative plattform of International Federation of Film Societies- Féderation Internationalle des Ciné-clubs- Federación Internacional de Cine Clubes

FICC Jury at Locarno Festival of Film 2014: Don Quijote award to Lav Diaz

FICC Jury-Locarno 2014Winner of the Don Quijote prize:
Mula sa kung ano ang noon (From What is Before)
Lav Diaz, Philippines, 2014, 338min,
Sine Olivia Pilipinas ( (alt:
Here’s the verdict:

“The FICC/IFFS (International Federation of Film Societies) 2014 Don Quijote award goes to Mula sa kung ano ang noon (From What is Before) by Lav Diaz, for its outstanding effort to investigate the uniqueness of personal stories alongside the collective dimensions of a nation’s history, and for its uncompromising ability to evoke both the dialectics between stillness and movement, and the contingency  of life. We believe that the film is an excellent example of cinema’s fundamental ability to transport the viewer through time and space while enhancing our understanding of the contradictions that define our identities. Ambitious both in form and content, Mula sa kung ano ang noon challenges in more than one way the conventional idea of cinema; therefore it perfectly exemplifies the spirit of innovation which defines the Film Festival of Locarno.”
Honerable mentions due to high quality of the program:
Cavalo Dinheiro (Horse Money), Pedro Costa, Portugal, 2014, 104min,
OPTEC – Socieda Optica Technica Lda. (
and Durak (The Fool), Yury Bykov, Russia, 2014, 116min, Rock Films (
 FICC Jury
Øystein Egge – Norway
 Krisztina Tajta – Hungary
Sebastiano Caroni – Switzerland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Blog Stats

  • 44,886 hits


70 years!! Federazione italiana dei Circoli del Cinema

Próximos eventos

No upcoming events

Website Editors

Marcela Aguilar (Colombia)

Gabriel Rodríguez (México)

Follow us!

%d bloggers like this: